{Watch) Daryl Mitchell Smashes Kuldeep Yadav On The Roof Of HPCA Stadium-TGN

New Zealand batsman Daryl Mitchell recorded a brilliant century against India – his 5th in ODI cricket – on Sunday at the HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala. He has been in thunderous form in 2023: this is his 4th ODI ton in 20 innings this year.

In a big match between two unbeaten sides hitherto, Daryl Mitchell stepped up in the absence of the injured Kane Williamson after New Zealand had lost both their openers early on in Dharamsala.

Daryl Mitchell came in to bat at the score of 19/2 in the 9th with New Zealand struggling to find boundaries as the Indian pacers had a chokehold on them.

Daryl Mitchell resurrected New Zealand’s innings steadily in the company of youngster Rachin Ravindra before both started to play their strokes freely. The pair added 159 runs in 152 balls, giving India their first proper challenge in the field in this World Cup 2023. It was not helped by three dropped catches from the Indian players as well.

After remaining conservative against the pacers, Daryl Mitchell and Rachin Ravindra attacked Kuldeep Yadav. It seems that their aggression against Kuldeep was pre-determined as India had only five bowlers today in their side due to the injury-forced absence of Hardik Pandya.

Until he had reached his century, Mitchell had walloped four sixes, three of which came against Kuldeep Yadav. Kuldeep had his first bad game of the tournament as he leaked at more than 7 runs an over.

One of those sixes from Mitchell was so powerfully struck that he landed on the roof of the HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala. Mitchell stepped out of his crease and plundered Kuldeep straight down the ground, the ball hitting the roof of the top tier in the stands.

Watch: Daryl Mitchell hits Kuldeep Yadav on the roof of the HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala


India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand (Playing XI): Devon Conway, Will Young, Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham(w/c), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *