IPL 2024 Auction: Mumbai Indians Released And Retained Players List-TGN

Mumbai Indians are reported to release a number of players ahead of the IPL 2024 auction, the biggest name of them could be Jofra Archer.

In the IPL 2022 auction, Mumbai Indians had made an investment in Archer, buying him for INR 8 crore. But the injury saga of the England pacer doesn’t seem to end. He missed the entire IPL 2022 season, performed poorly in 5 matches in IPL 2023 and missed the rest of the season due to his elbow injury issue. He hasn’t played at all since then and missed the World Cup 2023 for England, and is ruled out until at least December.

Not just the 8 crore purse that Archer holds that’s hurting Mumbai, but also an overseas slot in the squad.

Even without the services of Jofra Archer for more than half of the season and without Jhye Richardson, Mumbai Indians did very well to reach the playoffs in IPL 2023 and defeat Lucknow Super Giants in the Eliminator before losing to Gujarat Titans in the Qualifier 2.

When is the IPL 2024 auction? Date and venue?

The IPL 2024 auction is slated for December 19 in Dubai. This is the first time that an IPL auction will be hosted outside India. The total purse for each franchise has been increased from INR 95 crore to INR 100 crore.

In the IPL 2024 auction, Mumbai would be looking to bolster their squad as they aim for a 6th IPL trophy next year. For that, they are ready to make bold decisions by releasing these players.

Mumbai Indians potential players that could be released ahead of IPL 2024 auction:

Some reports have said that Mumbai Indians are ready to release Jofra Archer given his continuous struggle with injuries.

Other players Mumbai could release are Tristan Stubbs, Shams Mulani, Vishnu Vinod, Duan Jansen, and Ramandeep Singh. Most of the other players are likely to be retained by MI.

Mumbai Indians Squad in IPL 2023:

Rohit Sharma (C), Ishan Kishan, Tim David, Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Dewald Brevis, Cameron Green, Jhye Richardson, Tristan Stubbs, Arjun Tendulkar, Hrithik Shokeen, Jason Behrendorff, Akash Madhwal, Piyush Chawla, Raghav Goyal, Nehal Wadhera, Jofra Archer, Kumar Kartikeya, Shams Mulani, Vishnu Vinod, Duan Jansen, Ramandeep Singh, Tilak Varma, Arshad Khan


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *