(VIDEO) Mohammed Shami Bowled The Most Cracking Delivery Of World Cup 2023-TGN

If an unplayable delivery had to be exampled in one wicket, it was the yorker from Mohammed Shami to Mitchell Santner during the IND vs NZ match on Sunday in Dharamsala.

Mohammed Shami became the first-ever Indian men’s bowler to take two five-wicket hauls in the ODI World Cup history; he had taken a five-fer against England in the 2019 World Cup.

In that tournament too, Shami had started the tournament on the bench and then later on came in the XI to make an impact straightaway. He had started the World Cup 2023 tournament on the bench for the first four games as India preferred Shardul Thakur for adding batting depth.

Shami came in the side today in the absence of the injured Hardik Pandya: India brought in Suryakumar Yadav and Mohammed Shami to replace the injured Hardik and dropped Shardul Thakur. It seems now that even when Hardik returns, Shami is likely to be retained over Thakur because of his brilliant five-fer today.

Shami took one wicket in the powerplay, one wicket in the middle-overs and then snapped three wickets in the death overs, including that of the well-set centurion Daryl Mitchell,

Mohammed Shami bowled Santner with a brute of a delivery, possibly the best yorker we have, and we will see in this tournament. From around the wicket, he angled the ball, and there seemed to be a bit of reverse swing in it as it tailed into the stumps. It landed right in the blockhole and uprooted the off-stump, Santner being late in bringing down his bat.

On the next ball, Shami bowled Matt Henry with a full ball, that knocked out Henry’s leg-stump as he missed the ball completely.

Watch: Mohammed Shami bowls Santner with a stunning yorker

New Zealand posted a total of 273 runs on the back of a century from Mitchell and half-century from Rachin Ravindra.


India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand (Playing XI): Devon Conway, Will Young, Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham(w/c), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *