No Wanindu Hasaranga For Asia Cup: Injury-Ravaged Sri Lanka Name 15-Man Squad-TGN

The Sri Lankan bowling department has been hit with injuries and thus they will not be fielding their best XI in the upcoming Asia Cup 2023. 

On Tuesday, Sri Lanka announced their 15-man squad for the Asia Cup 2023, which will start on August 30. Sri Lanka are the co-hosts with Pakistan for this tournament. Sri Lanka are the defending champions: they won the Asia Cup last year in Dubai, though it was in the T20 format, and this time the tournament will be played in ODI format.

Dasun Shanaka has been limited to select his bowling options as four bowlers, including ace spinner Wanindu Hasaranga, have been ruled out of the tournament owing to injuries.

The trio of fast bowlers comprising Dushmantha Chameera (pectoral tear), Dilshan Madushanka (oblique tear), and Lahiru Kumara (side strain) along with Wanindu Hasaranga (thigh strain) have been ruled out of the tournament.

Chameera and Kumara are two of Sri Lanka’s fastest pacers while Hasaranga is their main weapon in Asian conditions. Chameera and Kumara are also in race to be fit in time for the World Cup 2023. Wanindu

Hasaranga was learned to be available and get fit for the last phase of the Asia Cup, however, with the World Cup 2023 in mind, Sri Lanka decided not to risk their biggest match-winner as it could risk aggravating his injury.

Sri Lanka are defending champions in Asia Cup, but they will be without Wanindu Hasaranga

For their replacement, Sri Lanka have included pacers Binura Fernando and Pramod Madushan, and legspin-bowling allrounder Dushan Hemantha in the Asia Cup squad. Plus, Kusal Perera makes his comeback to the ODI squad after a gap of more than two years.

Sri Lanka’s bowling will depend on young pacers Matheesha Pathiran, Kasun Rajitha, left-arm-spinning allrounder Dunith Wellalage and mystery spinner Maheesh Theekshana, who will be supported by Dhananjaya de Silva’s off-spin.

Sri Lanka’s 15-man squad for Asia Cup 2023: Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis (wk), Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Matheesha Pathirana, Kasun Rajitha, Dushan Hemantha, Binura Fernando, Pramod Madushan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *