Watch: Virat Kohli Bows Down To Sachin Tendulkar In His Celebration-TGN

“He’s charging for the second. He will get the second. NUMBER 50 ARRIVES FOR VIRAT KOHLI.” These words from commentator Harsha Bhogle have been etched in history as Virat Kohli had just completed his second run and became the first cricketer ever to raise 50 ODI centuries.

To do that in a World Cup semi-final, not least against an opposition that has given Kohli and the Indian fans some scars in ICC tournaments in recent years, heightened his achievement.

“And he stands alone on that summit. Nobody else there” Bhogle added.

His celebration spoke a lot, knowing he has created history. In his century celebrations in recent years, Kohli had remained subdued and mostly smiled.

But today, the jumping and fist-pumping celebration was back. He then went down on the ground to soak it all in just a bit more – not to forget he was battling the extreme heat and humidity of Mumbai.

After standing up and taking off his helmet, the first thing Kohli did was bow down to Sachin Tendulkar who was on his feet and applauding his magnificent effort – not just today’s for of his 15-year ODI career of Virat Kohli.

Watch: Virat Kohli bows down to Sachin Tendulkar in his celebration of 50th ODI century

Apart from recording his 50th ODI century and going past Sachin Tendulkar’s 49 ODI hundreds record, Kohli, during his knock of 117 runs in 112 balls at the Wankhede Stadium, also broke Tendulkar’s record of 673 runs from the 2003 World Cup.

Virat Kohli

Talking about his innings, Virat Kohli took over from a set platform provided by Rohit Sharma, who smashed 47 runs in 29 balls. Kohli shared a partnership of 93* (86) with Shubman Gill, who had to retire hurt due to cramps, and then of 163 (128) with Shreyas Iyer, who recorded consecutive hundreds, following on from his century against the Netherlands in Bangalore.

Kohli walloped 9 fours and 2 sixes in his 50th ODI century as India eventually went past 360.


New Zealand (Playing XI): Devon Conway, Rachin Ravindra, Kane Williamson(c), Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tom Latham(w), Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *